Trying to convert my 5 day into a 3 day

RAZORBACK09

Awards
  • Established
Right now i'm on a 5 day split. I've been using the same routine for about 2-3 months changing it slightly but I can no longer do a 5 day and I want to do a 3. Currently I'm on a cut cycle, mostly just trying to define my muscle and loose a bit more belly fat. The 5 day I was using was for bulking, I would like to try to stay around the same sets/reps. I feel my muscles are now too used to this routine and it needs a change. With a huge help of suncloud I was able to make this workout.

Right now this is how it looks, if someone can help get me into a 3 day that would be great :

MONDAY :

Bench
incline bench
weighted dips
close grip bench
reverse grip seated dips
upright rows
military press

TUESDAY :

deadlifts
shrugs
t-bar rows
barbell curl
face pulls

WED :

squats
leg extension
leg press
calf raises
pinwheel curls

THURS :

dumbell bench
tri pulldown (parallel)
tri pulldown (overhand)
tri pulldown (underhand)
front DB raises
cable crossovers

FRI :

DB rows
rope hammer curls
DB shrugs
face down rear delt raises

Everyday was 3 sets, 10-12/6-8/2-3 (If I could do more, I did)

ItsHectic

Awards
  • Established
Your on an advanced routine so it would be very hard to compress it into 3 workouts without drastically decreasing your volume.

I think you have 2 options, decrease the amount of exercises but keep roughly the same amount of sets for that muscle group and compress it into 3 days.

Or make it an AM/PM split so 2 of those 3 days you will be training twice.

If your gonna remove a set make it the last which is only 2-3 reps but would require a bit of a rest so not as time efficient as the others.

How long have you been on this routine for? It seems pretty solid and if you just want to change it because your not gaining as much then instead I would probably keep it and instead decrease your volume for 2-3 weeks then go back to it.