Time Off

JT54

Awards
I have been training for about 5 years and have never taken a week off from training. I was considering taking this week off b/c i have read that a week off can help alot and make you come back stronger. Is this true or does it even matter?

Rosie Chee

Rosie Chee

The Female Terminator
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
I have been training for about 5 years and have never taken a week off from training. I was considering taking this week off b/c i have read that a week off can help alot and make you come back stronger. Is this true or does it even matter?
You should be taking a week off every 8-12 weeks, especially if you are doing resistance training (I say after every 16 weeks if you're just doing cardio or sports training). NOT giving your body recovery time will hamper gains and progress. You definitely sound like you're well OVERdue for a week off - even 2 weeks off would be good for you.

~Team APPNUT

JT54

Awards
ok thanks. Ill take a week off and how it sounds it should do me alot of good. Im just one of those people who feel lazy when im not at the gym and feel like im getting smaller by not going.

Rosie Chee

Rosie Chee

The Female Terminator
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
ok thanks. Ill take a week off and how it sounds it should do me alot of good. Im just one of those people who feel lazy when im not at the gym and feel like im getting smaller by not going.