Barbell Lunges.....

1. Registered User
    Stats
    5'7"  190 lbs.
    Answers

Barbell Lunges.....

I have been working out solid for the past three years. It was not until about 3-4 months ago I incorporated dumbbell lunges with my leg routine. Dumbbell lunges gave my legs more definition, balance and stength.

Today I tried barbell lunges for the first time and all I can say is wow. I have never had to work so hard and sweat so much.

95 x10
    115 x10
    135 x 10
    165 x10

It was tuff to do because I only had so much room and can only lunge 3 reps at a time and I would have to step back and start over. I really wish I had more room and I can lunge across the gym.

Anyway, the point of this thread was to just get feedback and other's opinion on the barbell lunge vs. the dumbbell lunge. And, how much weight is to much weight for barbell lunges? Also I did the right leg as one set and left leg as one set. Not together.

Thanks

2. Registered User
    Stats
    5'10"  190 lbs.
    Answers

Try some reverse lunges from a defecit Also, as long as you can use with weight with proper form there is no such thing as too much weight.
  3. Registered User
    Stats
    5'7"  197 lbs.
    Answers

you are able to go heavier with BB lunges. my grip gives out first on DB once i get above 70lbs. and like was stated, there are many variations. there was a good t-nation article on lunges recently.
    •   

4. Registered User
    Stats
    5'7"  190 lbs.
    Answers

Quote Originally Posted by urbanski View Post
    you are able to go heavier with BB lunges. my grip gives out first on DB once i get above 70lbs. and like was stated, there are many variations. there was a good t-nation article on lunges recently.
    I'll have to check T-Nation out. Have not been on there for quite some time.
  5. Registered User
    Stats
    5'10"  170 lbs.
    Answers