Why is my bench press stuck at 195 lbs?!?!

1. Registered User
    Stats
    6'4"  190 lbs.
    Answers

Why is my bench press stuck at 195 lbs?!?!

Okay so in June I started lifting 5 days a week which I have continued to do up to today. I have made alot of gains since then, I started repping 135 on bench and I'm now at 195. But I've been at 195 for about a month now and am starting to get frustrated. I know that people plateau, but it just seems like I shouldn't be plateauing at only 195 lbs... I've just started to take creatine so hopefully thats going to help. BUt anyways, any help? What do you guys do when you just can't seem to increase weight anymore?

2. Registered User
    Stats
    5'10"  MUC lbs.
    Answers

i would have to say higher weight with lower reps 5x5 or something like that. Also just get really pumped up before you do it. tell yourself you will do more and settle for nothing less. also it may depend on where in your work out you are doing it, as in at the start or at the end. anyway hope some of that helps
  3. Registered User
    Stats
    5'11"  193 lbs.
    Answers

when I hit a sticking point on any exercise I do a pre-exhaust exercise inbetween sets. When I bench I do light dumbell flys inbetween like 30 or 40 for 10 to 12. At first your bench may drop a little, but after a couple weeks drop the flys and you'll be stronger than before. Be sure to push yourself and try not to rest between flys and your set. No pain no gain
    •   

4. Registered User
    Stats
    5'9"  185 lbs.
    Answers

Post up your current bench routine and how long you have been doing it.
  5. Registered User
    Stats
    5'10"  170 lbs.
    Answers

if ur max is 195.. do 5 singles with 175 a workout then add ten pounds do 5 singles the next workout at 180 then at 185 then 190 untill u cant hit 5 then take a week of and max
  6. Registered User
    Stats
    6'0"  221 lbs.
    Answers

take a week off -- or try harder
  7. Banned
    Stats
    5'11"  220 lbs.