Popping knees on deep squat??

Awards
anyone know if this is a problem? I do deep squats, the whole way down into the balled-up shape, but when i get close to the bottom, my knees make a popping noise, simultaneously. it doesnt hurt or anything, they just pop those. Its not really the same noise as cracking your fingers or neck, or even knees (i do that sometimes) its literally a popping noise. Thanks in advance

sonofsteven

Awards
  • Established
anyone know if this is a problem? I do deep squats, the whole way down into the balled-up shape, but when i get close to the bottom, my knees make a popping noise, simultaneously. it doesnt hurt or anything, they just pop those. Its not really the same noise as cracking your fingers or neck, or even knees (i do that sometimes) its literally a popping noise. Thanks in advance
I have the exact same feeling on ATG squats . I can hear and feel them pop , particularly my left knee but there is no associated pain . I am not a doctor by any means and a doc would be the safest route but I actually asked my doctor last time I was in for a physical about the popping specifically because I wanted to start a workout program and he told me that if there is no pain or uncomfortable feeling then not to worry . He even said his knees do the same thing .

ripnlean

ripnlean

Better Body Sports
Awards
when you bend your knees the joints tend to touch each other and that's why you hear the popping. I had an ACL reconstruction surgery and if it doesn't hurt I don't worry about it:D

seanlambo

seanlambo

Awards
man my knees pop everytime i stand up pretty much no pain, but it worries me sometime idk

hardknock

Awards
  • Established
My knees popped for 6 yrs with no pain, then crunched for 6 yrs with no pain. One day they sarted burning like crazy. Since then I've been diagnosed with 'runners knee'. Also severe case of it.
Needless to say, my heavy squatting days are done. They were done anyway due to my back but now it's official.