Shouler Popping over Bone????????

monsterbox

monsterbox

Awards
  • Established
I've been training hard for a few years and haven't really paid much attention to this until recently.

- When I raise my left arm, laterally, once it passes 90* I feel something small kind of catch/jump onto a bone, then on the way down it pops back over.

- If I do narrow arm circles with arm fully extended, no popping. If I do wide arm circles, moving up and backwards, on the way down it will catch and pop loudly at the same point as above.

- If I flex my upper lat, rear delt and then do the above mentioned movements, the pop is much stronger/intense.

- Finally, if I have my arm straight down by my side, and I rotate my forarm and upper arm together inwards, I will feel the pop in the same location.

Now whats weird is nothing pops when doing shoulder presses, bench press, lat pulldowns, curls, front raises, etc....only pops during lat raises and arm circles.

Once again, No pain unless I keep popping it over and over. Its pops every time I do those movements, no exceptions.

If I feel my shoulder with my hand while popping, it seems like the pop is coming right below where my collar bone ends. Almost like the ball is popping/catching on something at the top end of the socket I don't know.

So, should I worry about this? Should I stop doing lat raises? Should I get an MRI? Could my collar bone be too long? Could I have a Labrum tear and not know it? ETC?

Please help!

Iron Lungz

Iron Lungz

Banned
Awards
  • Established
Look in to a SLAP tear. This will require surgery; no way getting around it if it feels as if the AC joint is locking. Read up on it and feel free to PM me or ask any questions here about. I've been throught the surgery on both shoulders.

S.L.A.P. Tear's will have different grades.

monsterbox

monsterbox

Awards
  • Established