front squat

illgixxer

Awards
  • Established
I've never done front squats before but want to add them to my dogcrapp routine. I train my legs with smith machine squats, but also want to start doing them on the free barbell. Would it be a good idea to alternate between these two lifts within my dc routine? Also, they said the 1 set of 20 reps is good for squats, does this also apply to front squats? What is a better lift for building size? My legs are small in comparison to my upper body and I want to even them up.

Rosie Chee

Rosie Chee

The Female Terminator
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
I've never done front squats before but want to add them to my dogcrapp routine. I train my legs with smith machine squats, but also want to start doing them on the free barbell. Would it be a good idea to alternate between these two lifts within my dc routine? Also, they said the 1 set of 20 reps is good for squats, does this also apply to front squats? What is a better lift for building size? My legs are small in comparison to my upper body and I want to even them up.
Front squats are excellent if you are looking for quadricep growth, as they target them specifically (as opposed to back squats, which can target glutes and hamstrings as well). I would NOT recommend doing front squats on a smith machine (you will not be able to do them, period, because of the movement). You will have to go lighter with front squats (don't let ego get in the way); concentrate on form, and go until your thighs are parallel to the ground (as you would with back squats).

Personally I have found that I do not need to do as many front squats for growth; 6x6 as heavy as you can go works well, or 4x10 (personal preference; you will know what sets/reps your body grows best at within the 'muscle accretion' training parameters).