Weight sled training

blindcycling

Awards
I have been eyeing a Prowler Sled for about 3 years now. I found a cheap version locally here in the DFW. I went ahead and bought it. It kicked my ass the first few times that I used it. I literally puked the first day.

Have many people here used a sled in their training?
Did you stick with the sled training?

I am so pumped about the first few workouts. I do mainly old school type workouts, dips, pullups, tire and sledge hammer, dead lifts. This brought the conditioning into my workout that I havent had before.

pmiller383

pmiller383

Awards
  • Established
The prowler is definitely not for the weak at heart. I use one 1-2 times a week and I can say my conditioning is better that ever before. There is a good amount of variations we use with it, but probably the hardest is doing prowler suicides.

blindcycling

Awards
I remember pushing the big wooden sled when I was in highschool. It was tough, but there was always 4 other guys pushing with you. This is brutal, there is no help, there is no cheating, there is just you and the weight.
For pure conditioning I dont think that there is a better devise.
All I have done is 20 yard sprints so far, suicides would be crazy!!!! This sled has a ring to attach a rope or harness to do dragging exercises too, havent tried those yet.

pmiller383

pmiller383

Awards
  • Established
generally speaking dragging the sled is an easier work out than pushing it for me, but that could be because I have pretty weak quads. Does your's have upper and lower handles you can use like the Prowler or is it just upper posts?

blindcycling

Awards
Yea it has tall uppers, and a lower 'T' shaped bar in front. The tall uppers are tough, the lower bar is brutal. You have to get down low and really drive the sled. Their website is strengthsled.com I picked it up from a craigs ad for $175. I just couldn't afford the prowler.