Abs/Calves

FRIDAYS
Deadlifts
Clean & Presses
Flat Flyes
Skull Crushers
Hammer Curls

Sorry if this is in the wrong section :sad6:

Well, this is the 5x5 workout that I'm about to begin today. I've never done a 5x5 before, so I'm looking forward to this... it seems pretty intense (for me atleast). How've you guys done with the 5x5? Critism is welcomed.

FlexW99

FlexW99

Awards
  • Established
I've never done a full 5x5 regimen but I have incorporated 5x5 with certain exercises.
5x5 deads with 20 seconds rest with 315lbs is nice and challenged me right to the last rep.

I did more triples and doubles than anything else.

jumpshot903

jumpshot903

Awards
  • Established
5x5 is a great workout i switch between that and 12,10,8 and then last set is till failure i switch them up when i get bored with one or the other but both are great.

bigironkiller

Banned
Awards
  • Established
I did a 5X5 program and got great results. My opinion though is that when you reach a plateau, move down to a 3X3 for a few weeks. This should give you great strength gains. Good luck..

rbuecker

rbuecker

Awards
  • Established
nice to see a current 5x5 thread, subbed. im trying to crash course learn this and am considering starting on monday. cant wait to see your journey and the results bro!

hitsquaddd

hitsquaddd

Awards
Thanks for the replies and the kind words.

Well, my first week was nice and my bench went from benching 225 for 5-6 reps to 250 for 5-6 reps. So I'm pretty happy with that.

I've gotten some noticeable definition on my back from doing this routine for some reason, nothing too special though but I've noticed it. The workouts have been intense as **** lol. I'm considering maybe switching up to a hypertrophy specific training program this week. So I'll do this 5x5 for one week and then an HST for another week, and so on and so forth.

I dunno though, does that seem like a good idea to you guys?

tswepsto

Awards
Thanks for the replies and the kind words.