Need help with strength program

1. Registered User
    Stats
    5'9"  145 lbs.

Need help with strength program

I have been lifting for hypertrophy for almost two years now, and I need a break from that. I would like to start a new strength program. I've never really done one before, although I have played with 3-5 rep schemes in the past. So here are some points to keep in mind.

* I can guarantee at least 3 days in the gym and at times even 5. However, I think picking a 4 day split would be where I could be most consistent.

* I am recovering from a medial miniscus tear in my right knee.

* I have slight left elbow issues. Just some funky feelings and random joint soreness.

* I would like to incorporate some Power/Olympic lifts here and there. Although I haven't done any, I am open to trying new things. The power clean is definitely something I want to incorporate.

* My main motivation for this strength program is to improve total body strength to have a better base when I go back to hypertrophy in a year or so.

* Although I do like to bodybuild, my goal is not to reach a professional body builders physique. I do want to get big, lean, and be aesthetically pleasing to the eye.

To get an idea of my current plan and what I've been doing since September, click on my sig "Intra Aid & Beta Ala9". It's my current log.

If there is any other information I can provide to help you help me, let me know. Thanks everyone in advanced for the help.

2. The BPS Rep
    Board Sponsor
    Stats
    6'4"  280 lbs.

Mark Rippetoe's Starting Strength Program is perfect for 3 days a week - http://www.startingstrength.net/workouts/

For a 4day split, I'd recommend setting up either a 5x5, 4x6, or 6x3 program. This article gives some great ideas: http://www.t-nation.com/free_online_..._and_dense&cr=

Also, Bill Starr's 5x5 is excellent - http://www.geocities.com/elitemadcow...Linear_5x5.htm
    Bulk Performance Solutions
    --No Proprietary Blends, All Performance--