I don't get sore?

BBR

BBR

Awards
Hey guys. I've been training for a couple of years now and I'd like to think I have a fair idea what I'm doing. I have good technique and I always try to ensure I'm getting a good pump out of whatever I'm doing.
Over two years I've tried a variety of training methods and the only thing they seem to have in common is that I never got sore from them. The only parts of my body that hurt the day(s) after are my lower back and my thighs. Aside from that, nothing.
Sure I get a big stiff or sore WHEN I'm training, but never in 'recovery time'. I take my protein, my BCAA's etc. and I still get the feeling that I've worked hard enough, and I DO work hard. I lift 5-6 days a week, have a great diet and push hard when I'm at the gym.
Basically, I want to know why I might not be growing? Could it be I train TOO much? Not enough sleep? I'm out of ideas.

Hank Vangut

Hank Vangut

Awards
  • Established
you can't equate muscle soreness with workout effectiveness.
muscle soreness is NOT an indicator of a good workout.
muscle soreness is however an indicator that you did something that your muscles are not accustomed to.
instead, focus on progressive overload not muscle soreness.
use a scale, a mirror, pictures, tape measure and/or workout log to judge whether or not what you're doing is actually working.
use muscle soreness as an excuse not to have to take out the garbage.

BIGG DOGG

BIGG DOGG

Awards
  • Established
Switch it up and always push your self... If you arnt increasing weight or # of reps then you arnt making progress... I am sore after almost every work out.. And i lift 4-5 times a week for the last 4 years...

SokVichet

SokVichet

Awards
  • Established