Post Injury Workout Techniques

PeeCAM

Awards
Whattup people. I hope I'm creating this thread in the right place. I unintentionaly hijacked a thread before...so forgive me in advance if I'm not in the right spot. I'm new to this, but I got caught up reading a very compelling thread extolling the virtues of different chest excercises when I thought I could put a personal question out there.

Here's my situation:
Coming from an athletic background (college football, track) I've incurred several injuries in the past that might inhibit my ability to really bust ass in the gym today. I'm 37, and the body doesn't respond like it used to.

Nonetheless, I feel as strong as I ever have in my life simply by getting on a consistent program in the gym. Not ready to lift competitively (although it was a thought about 8 yrs ago...), but I like the idea of being strong and bringing my "sexy" back.

When I was 26 I tore my achilles tendon (L) playing semi pro ball. Got it surgically repaired, stayed in a cast for 6 months and then, like an idiot, tore my ACL (R) 6 months after coming out of the cast. Had that surgically repaired as well...and saw an end to any competititve team sport prospects.

I've always prided myself on my leg strength (Quarter squatted 638lbs as a college freshman). I hit the major muscle groups 1x/week. For legs I'm more comfortable doing a Hack Squat than the squat rack, because of the knee. When I go heavy, the knee joint definetely feels tender for a few days afterward. Ice usually does the trick.

My problem is that the size of my Right quad is good 2-3 inches smaller in circumference than my Left quad.

Simple question: How the hell do I get the balance back? Any good suggestions? I don't want to build the right in lieu of working the left. But the more important question is am I putting the knee joint at risk. Right now the tendon is held together with titanium screws.