forearm pain?

surfingwolf

Awards
I searched for information on this issue, but the search function is cumbersome, and I couldn't find any help.

I'm a beginner. I've lifted on an off before, but never had any success. I had some success with bodyweight training in the past, but I'm hitting the weights really hard right now.

I've found great inspiration in pavel's power to the people... purchased a 300lb set of olympic weights... I've been working really hard, and making lots of progress on my lifts. I'm losing fat, and gaining muscle as only a newby can! Sweet! Just loving it!

I believe that I'd be making more progress, but I seem to be blowing out my forearms. For example, today I had a really awesome workout with super intensity, and focus... eyes closed and feeling my body.... I wished to close my workout with some curls... When I went to start the lift... my forearms were toast, and I just couldn't do it safely.

Should I just power through it? Should I do special forearm exercises? Should I use a wrapping of some sort.

Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated.

STSW

atjnutrition2

Awards
  • Established
Depends on what type of pain, where it is, if it hurts only when lifting or all the time. As a rule of thumb it is generally not good to work through most types of pain as it is an indicator that something is wrong.

jakellpet

jakellpet

Banned
Awards
  • Established
Is it your tendons or muscles?

Either way, back off the weights or rest your forearms for a bit

surfingwolf

Awards
It does feel like tendonitis... I've had that before in my elbows from surfing too much... in fact I have a tendency to get that fairly easy from surfing especially if I've recently lifted.

I have *****y little forarms.... there's some muscularity at the elbows, but by my wrists... it's basically bones with a skin wrapper... I can touch my thumb and pinky aroung the wrist.