symmetry help

over40

over40

Awards
Hello everyone, I am new to not only this site and forums, but also to lifting, although over the years I have been in and out of gyms; never really dedicated any time though.
I have been back in the gym for about 6 weeks and I have noticed that my right pec is larger(more toned) than my left. Bicep and tricep as well.

My question is this, what excersises can I do and how often to get an equal showing of my 2 halves? Are dumbells required? Should I do more reps on one side? Heavier weight?
I am somewhat alarmed!! Is this as big a deal as I am making it out to be or is it normal?

-thanks
Over40

shaddow

shaddow

Awards
  • Established
Haha, I've got a similar issue. My left pec has always been slightly larger than my right, but my right arm is also slightly larger than my left. I'm right handed, if it matters.

I'm curious to hear what people suggest. I just kinda always figured they'd eventually even out if I kept working them the same. As my chest has developed, it's not as bad as it was before, but you can kinda still tell.

over40

over40

Awards
Shaddow thanks! I know I am not alone(haha)
I'll keep you posted on replies-

over40

ACSlayer

Awards
Anatomically, most humans have a larger left pectoral muscle naturally. It is larger in order to protect the most important muscle of all!

suncloud

suncloud

Awards
  • Established
i heard that if one side is bigger than another, you need to do an extra set or two on the smaller side - dumbells obviously, to stress the weaker muscle into growing more than the bigger muscle. thats all i know, and its information from reading - not first hand knowledge.

Rugger

Rugger

Awards
  • Established
Haha, I've got a similar issue. My left pec has always been slightly larger than my right, but my right arm is also slightly larger than my left. I'm right handed, if it matters.