question about cardiovascular health.

Cellardude

Cellardude

Awards
  • Established
I know this might not be in the right section but i wasnt exactly sure which section it might go under. I am not trying to lose weight per say as I am still bulking but I had something on my mind that aroused my curiosity. While bulking, I have noticed that I lack cardiovascular health. ( Slightly high BP, increased heart rate, lack of V02) The other day for health class my professor had us running around the block. I figured I could try a HIT cardio type of run. Turns out that I couldnt make it around the block once before I was shot tired and gasping for air.

My question to you guys who managed to stay lean,or healthy cardio wise is how would you set up a cardio routine while in a bulking phase? Also how would you do so while not trying to lose too many calories. Since I have never done a cut before I was wondering would it be a good idea to do medium intensity cardio/light cardio for lets say 15-25 minutes to help increase cardiovascular health?

I know some people argue that cardio while on a bulk makes no sense but I do believe that in the long run, If you do cardio while maintaining a healthy heart you make it MUCH easier on yourself when it comes time to cut. Your cardio sesions will be much easier. What do you guys think? Discuss please :)

My plan is to maybe add 15-20 min of cardio post workout possibly? And if done post workout, should I take my PWO shake during cardio or after? Thanks for the help guys.

goslamacamel

goslamacamel

Banned
Awards
  • Established
Sprints are what you want. Full on long endurance cardio will burn off muscle and do your heart minimal good. You want to do sprints and high intensity lifts at a fast pace. This will build up your pericardium and make your heart much stronger, keeping you more heart-healthy than if you were to do long distance useless cardio exercises.