ZMA - why do I need it and can I just "make" my own for cheaper? - AnabolicMinds.com

ZMA - why do I need it and can I just "make" my own for cheaper?

1. Senior Member
    Stats
    6'1"  185 lbs.

ZMA - why do I need it and can I just "make" my own for cheaper?

I've never tried ZMA before, but I hear a lot of people here hype it up as a before bed supplement. I feel I'm missing that part of my diet/supp as I usually just have protein and a few fish oils before bed. I don't need help sleeping so I don't care about that part of it. I want the strength/recovery portion of it. That being said, why can't I just buy Zinc, Magnesium, and some B6 and just take them in the proper doses? It would probably be cheaper (I already have 2 bottles of 60mg zinc tablets anyway).

Thanks guys

2. Board Sponsor
    Stats
    5'10"  220 lbs.

Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation

The main reason people take ZMA is that the specific blend has been tested and has clinical evidence, but supplementing with zinc and magnesium is a good idea anyway.
    M.Ed. Ex Phys
  3. Elite Member
    Stats
    5'9"  .5 lbs.

Quote Originally Posted by TheNinja View Post
    I've never tried ZMA before, but I hear a lot of people here hype it up as a before bed supplement. I feel I'm missing that part of my diet/supp as I usually just have protein and a few fish oils before bed. I don't need help sleeping so I don't care about that part of it. I want the strength/recovery portion of it. That being said, why can't I just buy Zinc, Magnesium, and some B6 and just take them in the proper doses? It would probably be cheaper (I already have 2 bottles of 60mg zinc tablets anyway).

Thanks guys