HMB trial

Shorinryu

Awards
Hello,

after having read the pro and cons of HMB; I risked and decided to buy it anyway. I did not want to buy dubious supplements that either do not work BECAUSE NOT BACKED BY ANY STUDY OR VERY DUBIOUS ONE (anything not listed in MEDLINE is a ? about effectivity and safety) or if they work they can damage your liver, hormonal system etc...

So considering that Katch and Katch phsyiology Text (which is the best in exercise physiology) mentioned the studies on HMB and that It was also reviewed by the human kinetics website on sports supplements (reviews done by academics)
http://www.humankinetics.com/sdsu/content/viewnotes.cfm?sid=11

I decided for HMB.

Being a sports scientist, I wanted to do the trial properly (Obviously it does not have scientific validity because it is done only on 1 person but still can help you to take or not taken the supplement into consideration for your needs). I contacted the firm that has the patent (MTI) and first asked which suppliers are using their original material.

I have been answered several but optimum nutrition, by their experience, was the most known to them for the quality of their produts. So I decided optimum nutrition mega potency.

I will also customise, as told, the daily dose (38 mg/kg body weight) hence for me that i am tall 179 cm and weight 84 kg will be 3,192 gram.

I will get 3 grams from optimum and 250 mg from Metrx (also using MTI).

My aim is to increase my weight and muscles futher, or at least keep the creatine mono gain from the last 6 weeks cycle (84 kg). My calorie need is based on the Eas calculator using the formula :40-40-20.

My last cycle was 6 weeks

creatine mono + ala 600 mg
glutamine 5 grams in the morning + 5 gram before training
flaxseed oil
arginine 4 grams before bed
3 grm melatonin
train 2 times a week (all body routine) + other 3 i teach and compete in Full contact karate
reached 84 KG (good muscles gain not excessive fat)

The HMB cycle will last 4 weeks