Protein supplements, pointless?

bobthejack

bobthejack

Banned
Awards
I'm not going to lie I have been having shakes since I started lifting weights about 8 years ago just because everyone I worked out with and everyone else at the gym seemed to do so. Until recently that's is. I orders chocolate instead of my normal vanilla and it's just too sweet so I haven't really bothered drinking it ( used to have one or two a day ) and I haven't noticed any difference in performance or recovery if anything I am probably working out the best of my life right now and enjoying it more than ever I'm not saying that's because I'm not taking the extra protein more likely to do with the way my life is now with the kids a bit older and having a few extra hours a week and more sleep than previous few years. But to my question to everyone is the whole supplement thing a giant scam to regular gym goers and only really benefits pro athletes who are taking their body's to the extreme and need that extra help recovering or do they not even need the extra help

Mraesthetic12

Mraesthetic12

Awards
  • Established
Protein is protein bro haha, regardless of where you get it whether it be from chicken, ground turkey, red meat, or protein powder, your body will use it for muscle repair and growth. I only drink protein if i wasnt able to get my protein requirements for the day, if youre able to meet your protein requirements from food you dont necessarily have to buy protein powder

pro45

Awards
Are you asking whether protein supplements like protein shakes are necessary? No. As long as you are able to meet your protein macro's by days end, you can use whole foods. If whole foods leave you short of your protein numbers, then shakes can be used to supplement your whole food protein intake. It appears, by your question, that you don't know how much protein you should be taking each day.