A little help for a complete NOOB Please. Any info...

Blanco Nacho

Awards
Hey everyone, I am a complete NOOb when it comes to this. I am just now finding out how unbelieveable it feels to take pride in how I look, and feel. I was curious if anyone can point me in the right direction for a decent workout, and training tips from the guys that know best. I am 34, soon to be 35. Right now, at 6'2", and weighing in at a disgusting 245-250lbs. Wanting to really clean up the diet, and hit it hard. I hope to hear from the expers, and hopefully get things going on the right foot. Thanks in advance for any help.

NACHO

Myokemist

Awards
Do you have a rough idea of where you might be calorie wise? How many times a week are you training/planning to train?

Montego1

Montego1

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
Although you might be better suited to ask this question in the training forum, I would suggest finding your baseline calorie intake and hanging around -500 from that. Try to keep protein high, carbs moderate and a bit lower in the fats. 5/3/1 would be a good workout routine to look into and light cardio after lifting is always good. Say twenty minutes of incline waking post workout. Once you get your diet and training in check everything else is just icing on the cake :)

mtinsideout

mtinsideout

Awards
  • Established
If you are truly just starting to workout keep it simple for now. Light cardio, body exercises, light weight training are fine don't push yourself to exhaustion. Learn how to do some basic lifts and start a routine, that is the hardest part. Once you got that part down then figure out what you are eating, start reading nutrition facts and focus on eating whole foods not processed meats or baked goods. If you are not getting any results with that advice then dig deeper into your diet and do some calorie counting, figuring out your protein carb and fat intake.

hvactech

hvactech

Legend
Awards