How do I get my natural sleep pattern back??

BigVrunga

BigVrunga

Awards
  • Established
For about 7 years or so, I worked in the food service industry. Late nights, sleeping in,etc was just part of my lifestyle. When I went into management, the 10-12 hour days and crazy schedule at me getting 6 hours of sleep one day, 2 the next, etc. I usually wouldnt be able to sleep until 4-5am, and sometimes Id have to be to work at 8am...to make it short, my sleep cycle was all fu*ked up.

Now, I have this great new job with a steady schedule, and I work 10-7. Thing is, my body still dosent want to shut down until 4am. On those nights when Ill get 3 hours of sleep, I usually end up nodding off at my desk for a second or two despite my mightiest efforts. I hate that!!

Then Ill end up exhausted, my workout will suck, and Ill pass out around 11pm and get a solid 8 hours of sleep. (something Ive been deprived of for over a year).
And the next day Ill have so much energy Ill be up till 5am again!

Any natural supplements out there that can help me out? Melatonin, maybe?

Thanks!
BV

Beelzebub

Beelzebub

Awards
  • Established
melatonin works great for me but not for everybody. give it a try along with valerian root, that should knock your ass out for the count. benadryl works too (dramamine being the key ingredient).

Scottyo

Awards
  • Established
might want to see a doc if the OTC supps dont work. Most would be very congenial to giving you ambien or sonata...which for me and my sleep troubles (which I wont go into) have been a godsend many a sleepless night. Also, you may find out there is something else at the heart of the problem here.
But like others suggested, melatonin is a really good start. I personally think valerian only helps quality of sleep...and not significantly. Other things like relaxing music, easy meditation or calming techniques etc can be very effective as well. Then you have benadryl and unisom as well. Good luck.....I get sleep tested AGAIN soon.