confused on which brand of alpha lipoic acid to use

1. Registered User

confused on which brand of alpha lipoic acid to use

This is my first time using ALA and I want to use the best but I am
    a little cofused about which brand to use and which form is better.
    One brand I am looking at is Primaforce ALA at 300 mg per cap at 180caps
    per jar then there is AST 200 mg per cap at 90caps per jar and this is R-ALA
    and then there is Syntrax 90 caps at 100mg of R- ALA has anyone had any
    experience with these ALA supplements and which one is the best and I am
    thinking of dosing 1 cap with preworkout shake 1cap with post shake 1cap
    with lunch and 1cap with dinner does that sound right for dosing and I will
    be having carbs with each of the shakes and meals. Any imput will be
    appreciated thank you in advance.

2. Registered User

Prefer Na-RALA (Sodium R-Lipoate). It is currently the most stable, most bioavailable, and most potent alpha lipoic acid form available. Alternatively, look for R-Dihydrolipoic Acid (R-DHLA). It is the reduced form of R-Lipoic Acid (R-LA), the active R(+) enantiomer or eutomer of (Alpha) Lipoc Acid. Oxidization of R-LA produces R-DHLA, making R-LA and R-DHLA a so-called redox couple. However, most of the important properties of R-LA are due to R-DHLA.
    The regular, racemic form containing both the R(+) (R-Lipoic Acid) and S(-) (S-Lipoic Acid) enantiomers in a 50/50 ratio is the least desirable form.
    Product Educator | USPowders
    Statements made by this online persona are the sole property of the owner, and do not necessarily reflect USPowders’ opinion as a whole.
  3. Unbreakable
    Board Moderator

Quote Originally Posted by strategicmove View Post