injecting fast or slow?

boti420

Awards
Medical manuals says that for IM injections the needle should quickly be darted into the muscle, whereas i've read o these forums that the needle is pushed in slowly into the muscle for test injections. WHich is the correct procedure, i would think that it should be darted quickly into the muscle as this will prevent pain and swelling, but i have no experience with this so help me out. thanks.

pistonpump

pistonpump

Banned
Awards
  • Legend!
  • Established
well you dont want to inject in a vein or hit any nerves that is the reason for injecting slower. I believe most people on this board go slow and steady. I started a poll on this if you SEARCH.

xxtruxx1

xxtruxx1

Awards
  • Established
SLOW! Take it from me, even in medicine you want to go in slow. You aren't giving yourself a piercing here.

You should also look into the z-track method of IM administration so that oil doesn't leak out of the muscle into the epidermis, or worse completely out of the injection site.

It hurts the same whether you jab it in or go slow, which is not much at all. Go slow, aspirate, push the oil in slow, keep the needle in for a little, then pull out slow (remember to use z-track).

pistonpump

pistonpump

Banned
Awards
  • Legend!
  • Established
pardon me but why do you leave it in for a while?

xxtruxx1

xxtruxx1

Awards
  • Established