To Rub or not to Rub

Big Joe

Awards
Sorry if this question seems niave, but I am relatively new to Homebrewing. When you guys are rubbing on your PH's, and you say rub hard, do you rub with your fingers or a cotton swab?

Chemo

Chemo

Brewing Anabolic Minds
Awards
  • Established
At first glance I though I was going to have to move this thread to the off topic forum ;)

Rub with your fingers, plastic spoon, gloved hand, or whatever else you have available. I don't know if I could recommend a cotton swab but have heard others that have had good success doing this...

Chemo

bigbadboss101

Awards
For lower back often I rub with the back of my hands. Why? The skin is thinner there and you get some absorption there instead of the thicker palm of your hands. Also, you don't have to worry about sticking a finger in your eye and getting burned.

Chemo

Chemo

Brewing Anabolic Minds
Awards
  • Established
For lower back often I rub with the back of my hands. Why? The skin is thinner there and you get some absorption there instead of the thicker palm of your hands. Also, you don't have to worry about sticking a finger in your eye and getting burned.
Good idea! I'm going to start using this technique as well!

Chemo

curt2go

Homebrew Help, Inc.
Awards
  • Established
people use gloves and whatver else. I don't know why I just use my hands . Thats what they are for right. Plus you just wash them after... Yeh the back hand rub sounds good.. Talk to ya

BigBenn

Awards
I spread mine with a cotton ball soaked in iso then wring it out on my chest. A bit of a waste but I wouldn't think more than 10mg or so.

Aneas

Awards
Hands but even if I was them it still burns sometimes if I rub my eyes, nose or mouth. No pain = no gain.

ChaseRoy

Awards
while we're on the topic of application..what are all your favorite application spots? i heard the back, anything else. I guess i am trying to ask if there is any one "ideal" spot to apply, where perhaps better absorption would occur?