College kid needs help with food prep

blitzkriegjim

Awards
So this is my first year living off campus at school, and between classes and work, I will not have the time to prepare meals every 2-3 hours as I would like to. I was just wondering if any of you could give me some tips on how to prepare food for the week. My plan is just to spend a few hours cooking nonstop on Sunday and load up for the whole week. Fats I know will be easy (almonds, natty pb, etc) but its more of the carbs/meat that I need help with. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Orangepeel

Orangepeel

Awards
  • Established
I think you have it down, are you asking how to cook the foods? I always make like 5LBS of chicken, 2lb's of 96/4 beef, 1-2lb's of 99% Fat Free ground turkey, on Sunday's and maybe a box of healthy harvest pasta, plus I have like 60 cans of tuna, that seems to get me through the week most of the time, plus I usually make a plate of 6 eggs, 2 servings egg beaters, diced ham, and Fat Free shredded cheddar everyday.

blitzkriegjim

Awards
I guess my question was what to do after you make everything? Is it ok to just throw like the cooked chicken into the fridge and microwave it later with some veggies or something for a meal? I'm just looking for a way to quick prep solid meals since I wont have time to fire up the foreman grill or anything in between classes. If I could just microwave something that'd be solid. Also thinking I'd just pre measure everything out into plastic bags ahead of time too so my portions are right and I won't have to measure them out later.

Orangepeel

Orangepeel

Awards
  • Established