Depth in my pecs

rhino65

rhino65

Awards
I know genetics plays a big part but I have the hardest time adding depth to my chest. My bench is strong and I have a very good incline but not much depth. Is there anyone who has over come this? Any advice would be appreciated.

rhino65

rhino65

Awards
I mix it up every week but this week I started with flat barbell bench 12,10,8,5,5,2 then decline 3 sets of decline 10,10,10 super set with dips 10,10,10 then incline dumbell 4 sets 10,10,8,6 then cable flies. Sometimes I will pyramid down in my sets. I will also mix up were I start my routine week to week.

csa2179

csa2179

Awards
i have been working for 2 years to build my chest. if you dont have the genetics it is a hard thing to over come. i started noticing a big change when i started doing DB flies. i dont do flat bench anymore, it never did anything for me but show i could push weight. i now do incline BB bench, decline BB bench. DB flies, and incline DB flies. i do throw in the cables but thats just because i think they are fun. i also do 4 sets of 10 of everything, with only around 90 seconds of rest.

josephd79

Awards
I had the same problem until I learned a little more about pecs. Believe it or not, the pec muscle is designed to bring the arm in like a bear hug, so those flyes are the most important part of chest building. The other poster who mentioned DB flyes is right on the money. Here's some other tips:

1) pre-exhaustion. Do flyes or pecDecs first to pre-exhaust the pec. Then hit presses & back to flyes.
2) Aux Pre Exhaustion. Whenever you push, like a bench or military press, your triceps are engaged. Sometimes your tris take too much of the weight off your chest muscle. So try doing cable pull downs and dips before hitting chest. This will pre exhaust any auxillary muscle so all bench work will be much more chest. Many times you'll find you can't go as heavy because your tris aren't able to push so it's all chest.