Stength training and body weight

cw2cearley

Awards
I've been reading alot of posts on here saying the more you weigh the more you lift. Is this true? The reason I ask is my goal is to get stronger using 5x5 but I want to be healthier I am a soldier and I need to keep the body fat below 24%

Newtonselite

Newtonselite

Awards
  • Established
[h=2]Do You Have to Be Fat to Be Strong?[/h][h=3]By Mike Westerdal[/h]
[h=4]For www.EliteFTS.com[/h][h=2][/h]
Many of you know that I compete as an amateur powerlifter. One thing I’ve noticed over the past few years is that there are many guys who believe the bigger you get and the more body weight you carry, the stronger you’ll get. This was pretty much undisputed in the past. All you had to do was look up all the world records in the squat, bench, and deadlift, and you’d find that the super heavyweights weighing 300 lbs and more dominated all the record boards, regardless of age.
I’m not sure exactly when it started happening, but the tides are turning. When you look up the powerlifting rankings, you’ll see that today the top numbers at many of the biggest powerlifting events each year aren’t always held by the heaviest guys. In fact, on forums across the Internet, people are arguing that the strongest guys in the world today are representing the 198-, 220-, 242-, and 275-lb classes. And I’m not talking about short, fat guys who weigh less than their taller counterparts. These are lean powerlifters who look like they compete in bodybuilding.
Matt Kroczaleski competes in the 220-lb class, giving the heavyweights a run for their money, and I don’t see any stinkin’ body fat!