New to powerlifting - AnabolicMinds.com

New to powerlifting

1. New Member

New to powerlifting

Hello everyone!

I have been training as a bodybuilder for 2 years and have now decided to switch my focus to powerlifting. I already have pretty solid numbers for a female, but want to give myself about 9-12 months to really focus on building strength before I participate in a meet.

I have a new program that seems to be working well but I do have a few questions....

1. What are the differences amongst the various federations (namely USAPL vs APF)?
    2. We all know how legit "drug testing" is in the non-natty bodybuilding leagues; is it the same in powerlifting?

2. New Member
    Stats
    5'9"  244 lbs.

are you going geared or not geared?
  3. New Member

Geared
    •   

4. Board Sponsor
    Stats
    5'10"  220 lbs.

Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation

Find a legit team to train with to help with technique. Technique is the MOST important thing in PL'ing.
    M.Ed. Ex Phys
  5. New Member
    Stats
    5'9"  244 lbs.

not sure which organization is best geared. I agree technique is very important. Im always trying to better improve mine.
  6. New Member

I am trying to find someone/a team to train with :/ Right now I'm still training with a bodybuilder in a very non-PLing friendly gym (I've already been chastised for grunting and I shudder to think what they'd do if I showed up with chalk) - any tips on finding someone?! haha
  7. Elite Member
    Stats
    6'0"  232 lbs.

Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation

i lift in a rehab facility whats more of a bbing gym. i just kept PLing alone and others convereted / joined in. i got a 4-5 man crew now
    Serious Nutrition Solutions
  8. Advanced Member
    Stats
    5'9"  230 lbs.

Quote Originally Posted by turtlefrog View Post
    Hello everyone!