Frustrating Deadlift Problem

Redoubt

Redoubt

Awards
This has been my problem with deads since I started training 5 years ago.
I train with a friend who has been lifting solid for about a year and a half, and he can deadlift 440-455 for a 1rm. Myself, on the other hand cannot pull over 450 and I've been at it for SO long. The actual problem is how ridiculously weak my pull is from the floor to my knees. I have a horrible start with any deadlift weight I attempt. I pulled 365 for 6 reps (PR), and I failed simply because I just couldn't budge the weight off the floor. My form is pretty much impeccable to my knowledge (I'm open to learn more with form), but considering I can easily rack lockout 500+ pounds for reps (above the knee), it's clear that somethings not right =(

Any tips/suggestions?

ProOne

Awards
  • Established
Train 3-4 weeks pulling from 2-3 inch platform so you create a deficit. As the rack pulls help your lockout, this will help with your pull from the floor.

Rodja

Rodja

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
Sounds like weak quads. What are your assistance lifts for deads?

TheKanezzi

Awards
100% agree to pull from a deficit. id start at 2 inches and work down to 4. The carryover is huge

Redoubt

Redoubt

Awards
Alot of reverse hypers, hip thrusts (thing with bar across hips and you thrust hips up), RDL..stuff like that.

jcp2

Awards
  • Established
Sounds like weak quads. What are your assistance lifts for deads?
That sounds like it to me as well. Olympic squats or leg presses in your deadlift stance always helped me. Deficit pulls will help if only you use more leg drive to overcome the deficit, if you bend over more it just helps your back strength. Just my opinion.

ProOne

Awards
  • Established
Honestly, without seeing him pull a 1RM, we really can only speculate.

Redoubt

Redoubt

Awards
Think zerchers would be a good choice to put into my reg? atleast on assistance days?