Stalling on deadlifts

1. Registered User
    Stats
    5'11"  205 lbs.

Stalling on deadlifts

Hey guys/gals, im a newbie to this forum and would like to introduce myself. I've been searching different forums to join but this forums seem to be the one to settle down with. Anyway to my question... at the start of performing a pull, do you settle in your start position for a long duration of time? or do you quickly pull right after setting your grip? I hope that made sense. I would like to know what ya'll do and your opinion on it. Thank you

2. Registered User
    Stats
    6'0"  187 lbs.

I personally settle for long duration, get breath in few times and after i am happy with pressure i do the pull. Dunno if this is the best way to do this, but i have always made my rp's this way. So i do this only with heavy sets or singles.

On regular sets i just go for it without anything special.
  3. Registered User
    Stats
    6'1"  260 lbs.

I only take the minimum amount of time necessary to get set. I wouldn't recommend lingering down over the bar too long. This tends to waste too much energy and eliminate any possibility of using a stretch reflex to help with the initial pull. Don't go so fast you set up poorly, but work on minimizing the time spent in the bottom. I get my air and arch, bend down just enough to get my grip, drop my hips and pull.
    •   

4. Registered User
    Stats
    6'2"  281 lbs.

Quote Originally Posted by SRS2000 View Post
    I only take the minimum amount of time necessary to get set. I wouldn't recommend lingering down over the bar too long. This tends to waste too much energy and eliminate any possibility of using a stretch reflex to help with the initial pull. Don't go so fast you set up poorly, but work on minimizing the time spent in the bottom. I get my air and arch, bend down just enough to get my grip, drop my hips and pull.

+1, this is the same thing I do.
    PrimeNutrition.com > 20% Off Coupon Code = theneck