Changes to my body by powerlifting - HELP

Chico222

Awards
I've been bodybuilding for a few years. I'm not huge by any means, but I do have certain characteristics that are bodybuilding-like (separation between trapz and shoulders, larger pec muscles, cuts in my tris and bis, abs showing etc...)

I don't lift very heavy because it is not in my protocol as far as bodybuilding goes.

I've become interested in powerlifting. I think it would be great to be able to lift heavy loads of weight, but I'm worried as to how it would affect my body composition.

Any thoughts? Would I lose my cuts and definition by switching over to PL from BB? Anyone ever done it.

Rosie Chee

Rosie Chee

The Female Terminator
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
I've been bodybuilding for a few years. I'm not huge by any means, but I do have certain characteristics that are bodybuilding-like (separation between trapz and shoulders, larger pec muscles, cuts in my tris and bis, abs showing etc...)

I don't lift very heavy because it is not in my protocol as far as bodybuilding goes.

I've become interested in powerlifting. I think it would be great to be able to lift heavy loads of weight, but I'm worried as to how it would affect my body composition.

Any thoughts? Would I lose my cuts and definition by switching over to PL from BB? Anyone ever done it.
You do realize that you get better mass and fat loss results when you're lifting heavy and with intensity, right?

And that your body composition is predominantly dependent on your NUTRITION, yes?

You are NOT going to lose your "cuts and definition" if you decide to start powerlifting. You CAN gain strength without making lean or fat gains - you just have to manipulate your nutrition and training for it.