Questions on how to start lifting equipped...

1. New Member
    Stats
    5'10"  237 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    70%

Questions on how to start lifting equipped...

Hello everyone,

I have a few questions regarding gear for equipped lifting, but in order to get some better answers I guess Iíll have to provide more information about myself. I have been lifting on and off for about 7 years. Seriously for the past 2. Iíve been in the Army for a little over a year and a half now and up until right before I joined I was training for the Mid-Michigan classic bodybuilding show. Due to financial reasons I enlisted with the quick ship option and left for basic about a month before the competition. I lost about 20lbs of muscle between basic and AIT and actually came out in horrible shape (aside from cardiovascular). So I started on my bodybuilding quest again about a year ago, but when I deployed a guy showed me about power lifting and I felt like I actually found what I was supposed to be doing all along. For the past 5 months I have been giving it everything Iíve got and I am really impressed with my results thus far. With minimal equipment ( ****ty power rack, mismatched plates, no chains, no specialty bars, improvised GHRís and reverse hypers etc.) Iíve managed to get my DL to 565, Squat to 540 and Bench to 435 all raw and all natural. Iím 5í10íí at 237lbs at about 17% BF right now. I know I still have a lot of work, research and time perfecting my technique before I compete. I leave Iraq in September of this year and would like to have a 1650 raw total. I have a very extensive knowledge of anatomy and physiology, I used to be certified through I.S.S.A. as a fitness trainer and I have a wide knowledge of supplements. However, I still continue to research power lifting every chance I get and it seems like I learn 500 new things everyday. Anyways, Iíd like to learn more about gear for equipped lifting. I want to compete raw a few times when I come back to the states