Pec Injury and Bench press?

Halveye

Halveye

Awards
  • Established
Hey hows it going. I am welcoming any type of info I can get on this topic. I have been powerlifting for about 8 of the 14 years I have been lifting and have had no real injuries till now. I recently (approx 1 week ago) felt a stabbing pain in my left pec at about 3 inches medial to my bicep in my mid-upper pec at the junction with the arm. I was on my last set at 315 which I usually end with 3 or so then go to 320 for 1, but this pain was pretty bad. Yet, the pain subsided quickly and after a couple of days I was able to finish my workout with flyes and wtd dips. Then this week I started my bench routine as usual starting out with warmups of bar-12, 95-10 135-8 185-2 235-1 255-1, which I have done for years and always had great results, then started my first set at 275 for 5. Then jumped to 285 (usually 4 or so), but on the 3rd rep I again felt the same stabbing pain, so stopped. Tried some stretching techs then tried to do my next set of 295 but could only go half way down, so stopped...so I stopped pretty much 30 pounds before usual which is a downer, but I was able to do pullovers with 100 for 6 sets of 10-5 progression, and then wtd dips with 90, 95,100,105 ( I weigh 220) and was able to go for 5 reps down to 3 or so.
I am at a loss what to do, because I feel that I may tear my pec and have to be out for months, which I can't do. Does any one know if I could or should be doing something differently to stop this. Maybe eat a Banana for K or something. I don't know how to get this right with out taking more time off than I could stand. Thanks to anyone who will reply.
Should I be starting my workout with something else than BP, which I have done for years. Any help would be great.

spartan300

Awards
sounds like a strain or pulled muscle to me....ice and rest

if it's something else...not sure.....see a doctor?

Halveye

Halveye

Awards
  • Established