Actual Powerlifting Training Program??!!

simonrr

Awards
Fellas...

I am new to Powerlifting and have been looking for a training program that details out exercises, reps, etc...I have not been able to find it.

Here is the deal...I have been an advanced weightlifter for appox 5 years. I do all the usual exercises and as of late (last 3 months) been using the programs out of Muscle&Fitness.

Well, I have set a goal to bench 300lbs as a max and feel the only way to accomplish this is utilizing a POWERLIFTING rather than conventional program.

I am looking to incorporate Bench, Squat & Deadlift into my new program but need your help....I have no idea where to start.

Thanks for any and all program recommendations!

Simon

AE14

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
I agree, tate is a great option

SRS2000

Awards
  • Established
Agreed with the Westside based template that has been linked. If you don't have access to the equipment mentioned, substitute an exercise that you can do that targets the same area.
For future reference, at least 99% of programs in muscle and fitness suck. Even if you don't pursue powerlifting full-time, I wouldn't get my programs from there.

stullsy

Awards
  • Established
i think mark ripptoes starting strength book is what you need first

stullsy

Awards
  • Established
oh yeah, dont use workouts out of magazines. the workouts ive seen in magazines are garbage

jcp2

Awards
  • Established
A couple points in regards to westside.

1. try and pull every week, i liked to pull after DE squats if i did not pull for ME squats.

2. Until you have a good deal of muscle on your body, it is probably better to use 3 and 5 rep maxes for your ME movements to stimulate a little more hypertrophy (i got this from Childress, and it is so simple and makes a lot of sense)

3. Do not kill yourself on your accessory work, leave some in the tank, it is not going to complete and utter failure.