Deadlifting problem today.

1. New Member
    Stats
    5'7"  160 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    24.25%

Deadlifting problem today.

I deadlift every 3 weeks and normally increase by 20 pounds so today I was planning on going from 355 to 375 but instead I went from 355 to 365 and when I pulled it my legs wobbled so much, it never does that, and I felt my hammy pull which I never felt before during the lift. I was just wondering what could have caused this to happen? I been under stress allot but I'm normally under stress so its nothing really different, would the shoes cause this because I went from using new balance to converse shoes today. Also I wiegh 163 deadlift- 365, Bench 195, Squat 265, I started lifting heavy about 8 months ago, how am I increasing? am I good for just being a beginner or am I not gaining enough for the time I have been in the game so far?

2. Senior Member
    Stats
    6'1"  235 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    7.18%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

as you start to lift heavier... stretch. Most guys have tight hamstrings, and blowin a hamstring sucks. I would say yor doin well, I would certainly be deadlifting more than every three weeks tho. I deadlift every week, heavier lower reps. Squats too, usually twice a week.:dl:
  3. Advanced Member
    Stats
    6'3"  255 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    15.53%

I agree with the above, you can deadlift every week, it will actually really help your back and trap thickness. You may have a week poserior, try doing some hamstring work other than leg curls. It is hard for most guys who go to regular gyms, but look up pullthroughs, maybe alternate deads with romanian deads every other week. Most trainees neglect the posterior chain.
    •   

4. Diamond Member
    Stats
    6'2"  225 lbs.
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    81.84%
    Achievements Activity AuthorityActivity ProPosting ProPosting AuthorityPosting Veteran

are you maxing out?