soreness from deadlifts.....

Super Penguin

Super Penguin

Awards
i just recently really started getting serious about incorporating deadlifts into my workouts and i have been doing them for a few months, but i havent really pushed myself in terms of weight in order to make sure i get the form down. well last workout i wanted to see what my 1RM would be for deadlifts so i did a workout of about 8 sets where i got to my max of 340 (is that good for a 168lbs kid?) next day i was sore all over.I was expecting the lower back and hamstrings, but my upper back and rear delts were also really sore. is this soreness the result of poor form or are these muscles just used in the deadlift movement?

Aggravated

Aggravated

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • Established
The deadlift involves a shitton of muscles, but if you are sore in your upper back, it is most likely due to the fact that your lower back can't handle the weight. So what happens is, other muscles try to take over for what your lower back/hams can't do.

Your form could be off a little as well.

Muscles involved

* Torso
--Abdomen
--- Rectus abdominis (under aponeurosis)
--Obliques
--- Abdominal external oblique muscle
* Back
--Iliocostalis
--Intertransversarii laterales lumborum
--Latissimus dorsi
--Levator scapulae
--Longissimus
--Quadratus lumborum
--Rhomboideus major
--Serratus posterior superior
--Serratus posterior inferior
--Splenius cervicis
--Teres Major
--Trapezius muscle
* Legs
--Quadriceps
Rectus femoris
Vastus lateralis
Vastus intermedius
Vastus medialis
--Hamstrings
Biceps femoris muscle, long head
Biceps femoris muscle, short head
Semitendinosus
Semimembranosus
* Hips
--Gluteal muscles
Gluteus maximus
Gluteus minimus
--Piriformis
--Superior gemellus
* Forearms
--Flexor digitorum profundus

Super Penguin

Super Penguin

Awards