Please help me out: Squat problems

Gizmacho

Gizmacho

Awards
Hello all,
I've been working out for about 6 months now, and I've had good progression in all exercises. I don't have the money for a personal trainer, so I was hoping to get a little advice on my squat technique. I thought I was doing fine, until I heard my hip elicit a loud nasty "pop" about a month ago. It hurt like a b!@# for a good 4 days and has been sore since. I was squatting 265*5 reps*3-5 sets when it popped and I squatted for the first time since Wednesday. I did 155*5*3 without a hitch but I made sure to go much slower and focus on my hams, quads, ab- and adductors. I still felt shaky when I got into the bottom of the squat though. What am I doing wrong? I posted a vid of my technique below.

My bad, can't post URL's yet. Any advice on assistance exercises?

Thanks.

MEPSE

MEPSE

Awards
Using 265 for reps is good for only training 6 months. Any chance that you were bouncing on the bottom? It almost sounds like some type of dislocation of the hip joint, and it may happen again if that is the case. I think you made the right call going slow. When I squat, I tend to lean forward slightly (bad technique), and I always go down until my thighs are parallel to the floor. I have never experienced a hip pop as you did, so this is just my opinion. You might try leg presses some also - they tend to be stricter and may help the hip heal fully. Good luck and keep progressing.

epilogue

epilogue

Awards
My hip flexors or something in my hips are pretty sore after squatting, but I've never had a pop. I wish I could see the video to see exactly how you're squatting. I'm still improving my squat technique after years of training.. It's tough to get it perfect.. I agree with MEPSE, take it slow, ease back into the squat and use other machines/exercises to make up for your lighter squat workouts..

j rad

j rad

Awards