New to ketogenic diet - have a few questions

beebab

beebab

Awards
  • Established
I'm going to be starting a ketogenic diet effective tomorrow, but I'm very new to this type of diet and am not exactly sure how to pursue it.

My bf% is probably at 10% now. I have gotten very lean following a carb tapering diet protocol and dieting down slowly over months. My relative lean body mass is around 180 so I've been trying to take in 270 grams of protein daily with 200 grams of carbs on lifting days, 130 or so on non-lifting days, and a constant 70 grams of fat daily. These numbers have worked very well for me but now I've realized that I cannot get much leaner than I am by continuing to consume carbohydrates. So... I am looking into going ketogenic.

For this diet I am going to try to get around 1 gram of protein for each pound of lean body mass I have, and around the same number of calories I get from protein I'll also get from fat. But I really don't feel like meticulously counting calories... so I'm going to just go by general portions and assess progress in a timely way.

For starters, this is a sample diet I have come up with:

Meal 1:
5 whole omega-3 eggs

Meal 2:
5 oz meatballs w 2 slices melted provolone

Meal 3:
30 g whey with 2 tbsp peanut butter

Meal 4:
5 oz chicken breast sprinkled with olive oil and 1 cup asparagus
2 tbsp peanut butter

Meal 5:
Same as meal 2 or meal 4

Meal 6:
1 cup egg whites with 2 slices provolone and olive oil

I will also be getting protein from salmon and steak and tuna. The above are only sample meals.

This diet is subject to a lot of change. But as for now, I'm going to overestimate a bit with the protein because I don't want to drop too low with my protein intake. 200 is 70 grams less than I've been getting so right off the bat that's less calories I'll be taking in from protein. The fats are there with the protein so I figure everything should pretty much balance out.