Glucose Meter Preference

kabuki

kabuki

Awards
  • Established
for those using glucose meters which ones do you prefer and why?

I'm going to be picking one up shortly.

Ronnie

Ronnie

Awards
  • Established
One Touch Ultra. Why? Because it only takes 5 seconds to read and takes minimal amounts of blood...oh and Ive been using them multiple times a day for 20 years now and have used them all.

kabuki

kabuki

Awards
  • Established
thanks Ronnie.

edit: have to spread reps around first.

Last edited:
Ronnie

Ronnie

Awards
  • Established
Its all good. They get expensive with strips without insurance!

kabuki

kabuki

Awards
  • Established
i don't plan on using it all the time. just want to see how i react to some different foods and portions...as well as run some checks on my insulin resistance. And see what AP and Yellow Gold do to my blood sugar levels.

Nitrox

Nitrox

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established
One Touch has a new 'mini' model that I just got. A little smaller and thus more convenient.

The Ultra Smarts have some neat logging features but they are kinda big.

Kabuki, are you diabetic or are you just experimenting?

kabuki

kabuki

Awards
  • Established
just experimenting.

Nitrox

Nitrox

Board Supporter
Awards
  • Established
just experimenting.
You won't be able to get much of a feel for your insulin sensitivity because your body will just automatically make whatever adjustments are necessary to keep blood glucose in check. In your case you would have to measure insulin levels directly (not practical). A diabetic on the other hand, can infer what insulin levels they should have based on how for out of balance their glucose levels are.

As Ronnie mentioned, strips are expensive without coverage. This might be an expensive experiment that won't yield all that much info.

kabuki

kabuki

Awards
  • Established
here
Insulin Index - Control Your Sensitivity
Author: Technical Panel

SENSITIVITY AND TESTING