How many grams of fat per day?

Jegs66

Awards
ok so obviously im very new to training and i need to know how many grams of fat i should be consuming each day?im 140 lbs.
for protein i was told 1.5 - 2.0 x my weight. which would mean 210 grams - 280 grams of protein a day. carbs is suppsoivly 3 - 4 x my weight. which is 420 grams - 560 grams of carbs a day. does this sound right to u guys?

Jegs66

Awards
oh. not sure if this matters but im 17, 140 lbs, 5'9 with a thin build

Jegs66

Awards
oh sorry 1 more thing lol. is there any certain amount of calories that should be taken daily or does it not matter?

bitterplacebo

bitterplacebo

Awards
  • Established
The carbs seem to be high. If you try to eat that much in carbs and protein alone, it will get you to around 2800 calories. For your weight, that amount of carbs might be too much. I'd try something like 225g protein from complete sources (meat, eggs, fish, dairy, tofu). Then 300g from carbs and 80g of fat. That gets you 2740 calories, which should be good for making some progress at a weight of 140 pounds. If you can't make progress, start increasing the amount of everything in the same general proportions.

The daily calories does matter, but it can be difficult to estimate exactly how much would be optimum for yourself. You can find some online websites to help you figure out how much energy you expend in just a rested state (basal metabolic rate) and also to help you estimate how much you use during the daily activities. In order for you to progress in your training, you need to be taking in a sufficient amount of calories to slightly exceed what you expend from your base metabolism and everyday activities.

prld2gr8ns

prld2gr8ns

Idiot Savant
Awards
  • RockStar
  • Legend!
  • Established
General rule of thumb is bodyweight X 15 for bulking calories, 10 for cutting, 12 for maintence.

Take that total number and divide by the ratio's of the diet your following to get the amount per day.