Ciggarettes effect on test/building muscle

BigVida

BigVida

Banned
Awards
Alright dudes, yet again another prolly dead horse beating, but I'm curious....been doing a little research on smoking/nicotines effect on test, and still can't find solid info or research to back this up. Obviously smoking is garbage for overall health, but.does it really effect how much muscle you can build? I have a coworker who's MASSIVE, and smokes a pack a day, and says he has his whole time through bodybuilding and still continues to make incredible progress. I also know.other folks who are extremely.diciplined in training and diet who can't gain any mass, and I believe its cause smoking hinders this. Opinions?

R1187

R1187

Awards
  • Established
I'm not a doctor, and so can only state my personal beliefs.

First, there's a ton of "broscience" out there about how everything under the sun "reduces testosterone". So, I would take it with a grain of salt.

Smoking isn't healthy, but I can't see it actually hindering lean mass gain in the presence of a suitable diet and training regimen. My guess is those people you know who smoke and can't gain mass have much larger issues with their training than their smoking.

tilldeath

tilldeath

Awards
I know I've read studies on nicotine improving fatloss so... Not good in general though since the neg's out weight the bene's.

chil

chil

Banned
Awards