HELP!!! Calorie Intake For Fat Loss (contraversy)

korndog

Awards
I weight 200 pounds, I am 5 foot 9, I am trying to cut (lose weight) while adding muscle. Since I just started lifting weights after 10 years I was told this is the best time to try and do both. I have been told different things when it comes to how many calories I need to take in. I have heard anywhere from 1800 - 2500. How do I know what one to listen to?

bodyfat = I would say around 22%
activity = other then lifting weights/cardio I am sitting or sleeping

adnscmplx

Awards
Try this:

http://www.1percentedge.com/ifcalc/

Use sedentary for activity, even though you are not.

Off the top of my head, I'd say ballpark 2500 on lifting days and 1800 on rest days. You are going to have to track cals, weight, and ideally waist circumference and give it some time to get some data then tinker from there. That is the best way.

WARBIRDWS6

WARBIRDWS6

Banned
Awards
at 22% you should probably go lowball or the 1800 figure. But like adn said, vary it.....1800 one day, 2000 the next, 2200 another day, 2400 another, repeat...or something like that. zig-zag works best, but keep the cals on the low end for most of the days if you can while you vary the daily amounts.

WARBIRDWS6

WARBIRDWS6

Banned
Awards
what does the zig zag affect do?

Just curious
It keeps your metabolism stoked, sort of like it can't get set in any certain pattern of caloric intake....you keep it guessing and it won't get in any sort of rut. It's never advisable to take in the same exact amount of calories every day. serpentine bro lol you do the same thing if you are running and somebody is chasing your or shooting at you ;)

AaronJP1

AaronJP1

Board Sponsor
Awards
It's like not eating makes u so tired :/

D2footballjrc

D2footballjrc

Awards
I use a calorie counting website like myfitnesspal, makes it easy to track and it adjusts along with you.

AaronJP1

AaronJP1

Board Sponsor
Awards

PVL

Banned
Awards
If I don't eat I get lethargic.