Sucralose?

CJ_Xfit89

CJ_Xfit89

Board Sponsor
Awards
Is it true that taking in Sucralose before cardio actually decreases the bodies ability to break down stored fat cells and exclusively "burn fat"? Since sucralose is splenda in disguise and all, and is basically table sugar, doesn't it just convert to glycogen which in turn will be the supply source for energy instead of fat oxidation?

Just a bit confused.

codered5

Awards
I am not an expert, so maybe wait for someone else to respond....but I DO know that aspartame, another artificial sweetener, hinders your body's ability to break down fat...so possibly

MakaveliThaDon

Awards
  • Established
interesting, how about splenda?

CJ_Xfit89

CJ_Xfit89

Board Sponsor
Awards
Splenda is sucralose in disguise

Red Dog

Red Dog

Awards
  • Established
I am not an expert, so maybe wait for someone else to respond....but I DO know that aspartame, another artificial sweetener, hinders your body's ability to break down fat...so possibly
I'm pretty sure there is conflicting evidence on this and other artificial sweeteners. Do you have any studies available that show that aspartame inhibits the body's ability to break down fat? I'm interested in the topic.

A study in AJCN (http://www.ajcn.org/content/82/5/1011.abstract) states that in a clinical study involving humans drinking either glucose (sweet), maltodextrin (not sweet), aspartame (sweet), and regular water (not sweet):

"aspartame did not trigger any insulin response" and "our findings suggest that both sweet taste and energy content are required for a hypothalamic response"

Red Dog

Red Dog

Awards
  • Established
sucralose + bulking agents = Splenda

codered5

Awards