How do you cook your sweet potatoes post workout?

TheBreeze

TheBreeze

Awards
  • Established
I was just reading a post by PublicEnemy and I didn't want to hijack his thread so I thought it'd be polite to start my own.

My question is, how do you guys here on AM prepare your sweet potatoes for your post workout meals??? I ask because I have been reading quite a bit about how much of an amazing food they are and I just got some tonight and dont really know how to prepare them.

The quickest recipe I could find in a quick Google search was about 35 mins and thats just cooking time. Is there any way to pre make this wonder-food and store it for a few days?

Im totally in the dark here, Im a TERRIBLE cook. lol Help a fellow AM brother out.

Thanks

cowboy007

cowboy007

Awards
  • Established
Bake them in the oven at 350 for about 35-40 minutes. You can then scoop them out, mash them up with a bit of butter (if your a keto/anabolic dieter) or a few tsp. brown sugar and store them in a container in the fridge. When you want them, pop them in the microwave and WHAM - Sweet taters!!

gokix811

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established
You could just microwave them. I used to do it all the time.

Taken from another website:

1 sweet potato

"Wash well but don't peel. Prick skin with fork all over. Place on a paper towel in microwave. Cook on high for 5 minutes. Turn, placing what HAD been on the bottom on top. Cook another 5 minutes. Vegetable Love says 13 - 15 minutes for 2 one-pound sweet potatoes. (Microwave strengths vary, experiment with yours til you know.)"

Cut it up into wedges or mash it. I like it mashed, salt and pepper to taste. 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and brown sugar optional.

TheBreeze

TheBreeze

Awards
  • Established
Thanks guys!!! I wasn't sure if they would stay good in the fridge after preparation. I will try all of those recipes for sure!

THANKS AGAIN!!!

mkretz

mkretz

Awards
  • RockStar
  • Established