What are some of the best things to eat?

DavidCopafeel

Awards
I'm kind of new at this whole health business. I've asked different people about what healthy is, including vegans, and I always get a different answer. I figured you guys would know a thing or two about being healthy. So what are some of the best things to eat? And how much of each? Just to get a general idea of the landscape, you know.

tnubs

tnubs

Awards
  • Established
tuna, chicken, rice, veggies/fruits for starters

DavidCopafeel

Awards
I forgot to mention, I'm an ectomorph. Don't know if that changes anything.

planetfuzz

planetfuzz

Awards
  • Established
Don't talk to vegans. They aren't people.

DavidCopafeel

Awards
My environmental science preacher was a vegan. Horrible class.

reptone

Awards
  • Established
Chicken, Turkey, Fish, lean beef
Broccoli, spinach,sweet potato,all veggies
Apples, oranges, banana,berries,melon, all fruits
Rice, oats,nuts, peanut butter
Skim milk, whey protein powder
Water
Water
Water
MORE Water

planetfuzz

planetfuzz

Awards
  • Established
you got that right. to the op, what are you're goals? just simply eating healthy is not specific enough.
That is true. Your goals will have a lot to do with your diet. A good start to eating clean would be to just eat real food.

DavidCopafeel

Awards
Yeah, I suppose you are right. I wasn't sure what to ask, you know, since I'm new at all this. So what are my goals? Maybe to get to about 180 pounds or so. Get a little bit of muscle, not to be a bodybuilder, but to get a little muscle, enough that can be noticed, and mainly to have a sustainable diet that can carry me into old age. As for real food, does pasta with powdery seasonings (you know, the kind that comes in a box) count as real food? And I certainly need to drink more water, holy crap I need to drink more water.

n87

Awards
  • Established
Agree with all of the above. Also, cottage cheese, eggs.

planetfuzz

planetfuzz

Awards
  • Established