critique my college diet

mdbaker

Awards
i am a college student 19 yrs old about 196 lbs 17-18 percent body fat. im bulking throughout the winter before my cut begins in march i wanted some advice on how to diet around my classes. this is what i am currently doing now.

830 am - 20 g whey proten, 1 banana

9:00 am - class

10:30 am - 1 can tuna 2 slices whole wheat bread, 1 light yogurt

12-2 pm - class

2:15 - 8 oz chicken breast, 1 cup of brown rice or 1 cup of broccoli

5:00 - 8 oz chicken breast or 8 oz. ground beef, potatoes or brown rice

8:00 - preworkout - 20 g whey protein, 1 banana

9:30 - postworkout - 40 g whey protein, 12 saltines with jelly

bedtime (usually 12 am) - 30 g casein protein.

on the days i work out in the morning i have a cytogainer shake around 9 pm or so. i do this mostly because i dont know what to eat around that time. if you have any whole food ideas for 8 or 9 pm let me know. any help would be greatly appreciated

Aggravated

Aggravated

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • Established
Diet looks okay. I would take in more protein for each shake you are drinking though. What is the caloric value of all this, and what does it break down into as far as macros go? How many calories are required for your maintenance? Is the bulk of your diet comprised of whole foods? Are you eating enough carbs?

All of those above factors will answer your questions. Good call on the casein protein though. I would recommend a Waxy Maize Starch supplement in place of the saltines, but that is my opinion.

Aggravated

Aggravated

Board Sponsor
Awards
  • Established
What exactly is "casein protein"?
A protein that takes a longer time for your body to digest. The idea is to take it before bed, so that your muscles are fed for the entire time you sleep. Up to 8 hours I believe. It has it's advantages for that purpose, simply because whey protein is digested rather quickly, maybe 30 minutes or so.

If you really need any more info than that, just Google it. :p