post workout meal HELP

liftallday123

Awards
  • Established
Hey i have been bodybuilding for about 4 years now and ever since i started my post workout meal's main protein source has been whey protein. Now a friend of mine i work with who is 40 years old and a veteran bodybuilder(all natural huge and ripped) told me to totally drop whey protein out of my post workout meal and totally out of my diet and go with a diet consisting of all natural high protein foods and healthy carbs and fats. Now my diet is already consisting of natural foods besides my intake of whey protein in the morning and after my workouts. He told me that you will benifit more from not taking whey and build a totally different physique then someone who uses whey protein. So now my question to u guys is what should my post workout meal consist of if not taking whey protein?

My current diet now is:
meal 1: 5 egg whites and 2 pieces of arnold protein bread, cup of light silk milk, 25 grams of whey
meal 2: large chicken breast, 1 medium size sweet potato, and light string cheese
meal 3 : pre workout: 1 serving of natural pb on 110 calorie whole wheat bagel
meal 4: POST WORKOUT:use to be 50 grams of whey (LOOKING TO REPLACE)
Meal 5 :l arge chicken breast, sweet potato, brocolli
Meal 6: 4 egg whites, light string cheese

My Supps i take: multi vitamin and fish oil

liftallday123

Awards
  • Established
u think i should add some fruit or somethin to help spike insulin?

SweetLou321

Awards
  • Established
  • Best Answer
  • First Up Vote
  • RockStar
Well you use to just use 50g of whey no? Protein can spike insulin on its own. And since you didnt have carbs with your shake no need for it now. The post-wo fast carbs things is a myth unless you train fasted, or train multiple times a day. You will refill glycogen stores in 24hrs regardless. Id suggest just add a whole food protein source in its place of similar macros.

benmuscle

Awards