Newby

Holloman804

Awards
Ok I'm new at this getting in shape thing I weigh 190 I need to know how many calories do I need to build muscle and what should I be doing in da gym because right now I'm just lifting whatever I can and I'm pretty sure I'm not eating right help me out guys

trulordd

Awards
my-calorie-counter.com

This can help with how many calories you should eat for what you want to do.

PhillyFreak22

PhillyFreak22

Awards
Find out your maintenance level. Then multiply by 2. What your goal?

Firmanator

Firmanator

Awards
I disagree....usually average is 500 above maintenance. Going 2, 3, or even 4000 above maintenance?? Good way to just add a lot of excess fat.

Firmanator

Firmanator

Awards
Your question is verrrrry general too. There are tons of basic articles on bulking up cuz it's way too much info for me to type here. Look up layne norton bulking articles :)

HerniatedLift

Awards
I disagree....usually average is 500 above maintenance. Going 2, 3, or even 4000 above maintenance?? Good way to just add a lot of excess fat.
Not necessarily... Since he is just starting he could benefit from all the extra calories, His strength would without a doubt go through the roof. I'd say 1000 over starting then add from there.

Firmanator

Firmanator

Awards
Yeah average is still around 500. A thousand sure, in the beginning maybe, when your body is more prone to add lean mass. But he was saying double your maintenance, so say maint is 2500, youd eat 5000? LOL on the road to being a fatso.
No matter how your metabolism is, your body will only be able to build muscle so fast. Adding a ton extra is unnecessary, and slow weight gain helps to ensure most is muscle, not just fat storage ;)

PhillyFreak22

PhillyFreak22

Awards
Yeah average is still around 500. A thousand sure, in the beginning maybe, when your body is more prone to add lean mass. But he was saying double your maintenance, so say maint is 2500, youd eat 5000? LOL on the road to being a fatso.