Any traditional MA's in the house???

RenegadeRows

RenegadeRows

Awards
  • Established
Just curious to see how many of you guys/gals practice traditional MA's. I'm studying Chinese martial arts; hung gar and taijiquan.

flobot

flobot

Awards
  • Established
Yupyup! Lots and lots of forms and sparring w/o gloves (No punches to the face.)

So what's Hung Gar like? I've tried kung fu before but only got the basic five stances form before I had to quit to do something.

I wanted to try tai chi too to balance everything cuz every single thing I was training was hard. I ended up doing Iai-do instead. Very, very good for focusing the mind.

RenegadeRows

RenegadeRows

Awards
  • Established
Yupyup! Lots and lots of forms and sparring w/o gloves (No punches to the face.)

So what's Hung Gar like? I've tried kung fu before but only got the basic five stances form before I had to quit to do something.

I wanted to try tai chi too to balance everything cuz every single thing I was training was hard. I ended up doing Iai-do instead. Very, very good for focusing the mind.
I saw the FightQuest when they trained with the kyokushin guys. Very no frills approach. I would be worried about those punches to the chest, as it's known an upward punch to the sternum can cause heart attack!

Taichi and hung gar are both close range fighting. Hung gar is southern shaolin. There are 4 "Pillar" forms: Gung Gee, which is the first form, and an epic 300 moves to build endurance and a base of the form. Tiger/Crane, which has tiger and crane movements (hard and soft), 5 Animal form (snake, tiger, crane, panther, and dragon.), and the last which is called Iron Wire form is all dragon form which is internal. Primarily close range so alot of elbows, trapping, etc. The style is known for a solid horse stance and also "kiu sau" which is a bridge hand exercise to build forearms and hand strength.