Any traditional MA's in the house??? - AnabolicMinds.com

Any traditional MA's in the house???

1. Elite Member

Reputation Reputation Reputation Reputation

Any traditional MA's in the house???

Just curious to see how many of you guys/gals practice traditional MA's. I'm studying Chinese martial arts; hung gar and taijiquan.

2. New Member
    Stats
    5'8"  180 lbs.

Do you consider kyokushinkai karate traditional?
  3. Elite Member

Quote Originally Posted by flobot View Post
    Do you consider kyokushinkai karate traditional?
    Sure do. Is that Mas Oyama's style???
    •   

4. New Member
    Stats
    5'8"  180 lbs.

Yupyup! Lots and lots of forms and sparring w/o gloves (No punches to the face.)

So what's Hung Gar like? I've tried kung fu before but only got the basic five stances form before I had to quit to do something.

I wanted to try tai chi too to balance everything cuz every single thing I was training was hard. I ended up doing Iai-do instead. Very, very good for focusing the mind.
  5. Elite Member

Yupyup! Lots and lots of forms and sparring w/o gloves (No punches to the face.)

So what's Hung Gar like? I've tried kung fu before but only got the basic five stances form before I had to quit to do something.

I wanted to try tai chi too to balance everything cuz every single thing I was training was hard. I ended up doing Iai-do instead. Very, very good for focusing the mind.
    I saw the FightQuest when they trained with the kyokushin guys. Very no frills approach. I would be worried about those punches to the chest, as it's known an upward punch to the sternum can cause heart attack!