Low T and Chronic Fatigue

1. New Member
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    49.87%

Low T and Chronic Fatigue

Hi All,

I've been fighting the low T, and chronic fatigue for a couple of years now. Additionally I've have been treated on and off for depression for about 10 years now. I'm a 37 white male and healthy other than for the hypogonadism, depression and fatigue.

I started out on compounded T creme, moved to androgel, then injections. Currently getting 1cc weekly for the last six months and my endo says the T-levels are low normal now and all the other blood levels are fine (sorry I don't have specifics on the levels) So she sent me to a shrink. The shrink started me on 20mg of lexapro and I no longer have the daily crying fits and uncontrolable urges to bump myself off which I am grateful for.

Problem is I still have extreme fatigue. A trip across the street to the grocery store will result in me coming home and sleeping for 2 hours. Can't even think about going out to dinner or a movies with my wife as I'm ready for a 3 hour nap by the time we get there. Haven't been able to work for 8 months now and life is pretty dismal overall.

Now the shrink wants to put me on Ritalin. 5mg in the morning and another 5mg in the afternoon. I don't have ADD or ADHD, but he says it's an amphedamine and will boost my energy.

I'm a bit skeptical of this plan and haven't started it yet. My endo says it won't screw up my Hypogonadism treatment and will likely help with the fatigue. My red-flag-o-meter is waving pretty strong as I feel like this is just putting a band-aid on slashed wrist so to speak. Stops the bleeding, but....

What do you all think??

2. Professional Member
    Level
    Lv. Percent
    61.27%
    Achievements Activity ProPosting Pro

Quote Originally Posted by toast View Post
    Hi All,