Follistatin, ACTN3, IGF-1, shRNA myostain and gene therapy

radone

radone

Awards
There is good scientific evidence for the use of gene therapy for follistatin and IGF-1. There is also good potential with ACTN3 (sprinter's gene) and shRNA for myostatin (myostatin inhibitor). (I am a real researcher, studying athletic performance enhancement and the treatment of muscle diseases) I am currently working on a research project related to these and some other genes. If you compare gene therapy versus injection of the gene product (peptide or protein), there are definite safety advantages to administration of the peptide. Has anyone else observed this same research? My question is related to gene therapy with IGF-1. In theory, you should be able to obtain similar results from the injection of IGF-1 peptide as you would with IGF-1 AAV gene therapy. Of course, the peptide will require frequent dosing. It has been my experience that the IGF-1 peptide does not even come close to achieving the results that gene therapy does. Any thoughts?

bigironkiller

Banned
Awards
  • Established
What degrees do you have? Always wanted to be a researcher.

radone

radone

Awards
Undergraduate was biochemistry. I have an MD, but also post graduate work in Molecular Biology and Biochem. My research has been mainly for cancer gene therapy, but got into anabolic work for cancer muscle wasting. Once I started working on muscle building, I have become completely consumed. The potential is very exciting.

JohnnieFreeze

JohnnieFreeze

Awards
  • Established
Ive read some studies about gene therapy for muscle growth..subjects were able to gain a higher degree of muscle, and in a matter of weeks rather than months like with simple injections..
but unless you're Bill Gates its probably not a realistic option for most.

radone

radone

Awards